Have you heard of TED talks? My husband introduced me to them a while back. Their website describes them as “Riveting talks by remarkable people, free to the world.”

I want to share some TED talks I have enjoyed here occasionally with brief notes I’ve taken.

“The Power of Vulnerability” by Brene Brown.

What do these people who have a sense of belonging have in common?

1. Sense of courage:

The courage to be imperfect.

2. The compassion to be kind to themselves first; we can’t practice compassion with other people if we cannot first treat ourselves kindly.

3. Connection: they had connection as a result of authenticity.

They were willing to let go of who they thought they should be in order to be who they were.

Which you absolutely have to do in order to have connection.

4. Other thing- they fully embraced vulnerability.

They believed that what made them vulnerable…made them beautiful.

They talked about the willingness to say “I love you” first. The willingness to do something when there were not guarantees.

